Activities

Junya Ishigami 石上 純也

Junya Ishigami 石上 純也, exhibition view, Frederick Kiesler Foundation, Vienna 2024

EXHIBITION
June 19, 2024 – October 11, 2024

Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation
Mariahilfer Straße 1b / Top 1, 1060 Vienna

An exhibition by the Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation as part of the 13th Austrian Frederick Kiesler Prize for Architecture and the Arts.

Curated by Anna Fliri


The Japanese architect Junya Ishigami is the 13th winner of the Austrian Frederick Kiesler Prize for Architecture and the Arts.

The international jury, consisting of Leonor Antunes, Céline Condorelli, Harald Gründl, Anupama Kundoo, and Kjetil Thorsen, recognized Ishigami as an architect »who stands out in today’s architecture practice for his inspirational and unique approach to building design.«

»His poetically sculptural building designs are always at the interface between architecture, art, and social design and take the discipline to a new level. While the building industry, with its focus on commercial aspects, has taken ownership of what architecture should look like, Ishigami follows his own uncompromising path in realizing his visionary projects.«
(Elke Delugan-Meissl, President Frederick Kiesler Foundation)

Junya Ishigami, who was born in Kanagawa Prefecture in 1974, is one of the most outstanding talents on the international architecture scene. The exhibition shows House and Restaurant (2022, Ube/JPN) and Zaishui Art Museum (2024, Rizhao/CHN), two projects by junya.ishigami+associates.


Header-Image: Junya Ishigami 石上 純也, exhibition view, Frederick Kiesler Foundation, Vienna 2024, Photo: kunst-dokumentation.com / Manuel Carreon Lopez

More information about the 13th Austrian Frederick Kiesler Prize for Architecture and the Arts:

Aktivitäten

Junya Ishigami 石上 純也

Junya Ishigami 石上 純也, Ausstellungsansicht, Friedrich Kiesler Stiftung, Wien 2024, Foto: kunst-dokumentation.com / Manuel Carreon Lopez

AUSSTELLUNG
19. Juni 2024 bis 11. Oktober 2024

Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler Privatstiftung
Mariahilfer Straße 1b / Top 1, 1060 Wien

Ausstellung der Österreichischen Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler Privatstiftung im Rahmen des 13. Österreichischen Friedrich Kiesler Preis für Architektur und Kunst.

Kuratiert von Anna Fliri


Der japanische Architekt Junya Ishigami ist der 13. Träger des Österreichischen Friedrich Kiesler-Preises für Architektur und Kunst.

Die internationale Jury, bestehend aus Leonor Antunes, Céline Condorelli, Harald Gründl, Anupama Kundoo und Kjetil Thorsen, würdigt mit Ishigami einen Architekten »der sich durch seine inspirierende und einzigartige Herangehensweise an die Gestaltung der gebauten Umwelt auszeichnet.«

»Seine poetisch-skulpturalen Gebäudeentwürfe bewegen sich stets an der Schnittstelle zu Architektur, Kunst und sozialem Design und heben die Disziplin auf eine neue Ebene. Während die Bauindustrie die Hoheit darüber übernommen hat, wie Architektur aussehen soll, mit einem Fokus auf kommerzielle Aspekte, geht Ishigami einen eigenen kompromisslosen Weg und realisiert seine visionären Projekte.« (Elke Delugan-Meissl, Präsidentin Friedrich Kiesler Stiftung)

Junya Ishigami, 1974 in der Präfektur Kanagawa geboren, ist eines der herausragendsten Talente der internationalen Architekturszene. Die Ausstellung zeigt mit House and Restaurant (2022, Ube/JPN) und Zaishui Art Museum (2024, Rizhao/CHN) zwei Projekte von junya.ishigami+associates.


Header-Abbildung: Junya Ishigami 石上 純也, Ausstellungsansicht, Friedrich Kiesler Stiftung, Wien 2024, Foto: kunst-dokumentation.com / Manuel Carreon Lopez

Mehr Informationen zum 13. Österreichischen Friedrich Kiesler Preis für Architektur und Kunst: